Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Help with free convection

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hi everyone

I'm quite new to comsol modelling, and here I've run into this problem trying to model a free convection in air
being a test model the geometry is simple, just a heated plate surrounded by air, which is subjected to a buoyancy force.
the problem is this error message" failed to evaluate expression" every time I try to solve it using constant damping, but when I try automatic damping it cannot converge, maybe I linked the two physics wrong?
I've attached my model here, would be much much appreciated if anyone would look into it and tell me what's wrong..

best regards
Eric

5 Replies Last Post 2014年4月1日 GMT-4 17:18
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年10月23日 GMT-4 04:34
Hi

you ave probably a few issues, on I see, is the "orange" color of the "air" material proparties. When you choose library materials you need to carefully check all variables used, are these constants or functions, linear or not ? Specially in your case you need to be sure "air" is using the correct "T" and "pA". As you mix in several physics you have potentil duplicated names in there, to avoid this COMSOL adds the physics "(identifier)" name before the variable. you have a "ht.pA" and might have "spf.pA" (?) but "pA" alone is not defined (try in the Results section to integrate "pA", you will get an error, but not for ht.pA). There fore you must already start to edit your matrial data variable name pA to ht.pA.

For T it's slightly different because its a dependent variable of HT and exist globally as is without the "ht." prefix