Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How do I model rigid ball impacting a composite plate?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to COMSOL and I am trying to build a model of a small steel ball impacting a composite plate, similar to figure 1 in this paper: www.comsol.com/offers/conference2012papers/papers/file/id/13003/file/14167_pavelko_paper.pdf

I have not been able to find any tutorials or examples that explain how to get started with this. Could anyone help get me started? I think I know how to build the geometry but do not know what physics modules I should be using or how to give the steel ball velocity.

What physics should I be using? Can I model this impact without using the multibody dynamics module? My student version does not come with the multibody dynamics module.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Alec

6 Replies Last Post 2017年9月21日 GMT-4 11:30
Nagi Elabbasi Facebook Reality Labs

Posted: 8 years ago 2016年9月8日 GMT-4 11:37
Hi Alec,

I would start with one of the COMSOL tutorials about Contact (that requires the Structural Mechanics module). An initial velocity is assigned using the “Initial Values” node. The main challenge for this problem is handling impact (as opposed to stationary contact). The default contact settings in COMSOL are good for stationary contact (that is well documented in the manuals), so you need to make some modifications. To solve this type of problem I use a penalty contact formulation (instead of the default Augmented Lagrangian) and select a suitable penalty stiffness that does not lead to excessive penetration or energy instability. I tried to attach an animation of such a model for you but for some reason can’t do it.

Nagi Elabbasi
Veryst Engineering