Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Returned solution is not converged

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello COMSOLants,

I am new to COMSOL and want to do a stationary thermal simulation of high voltage power cables with COMSOL Multiphysics 5.1.
I have a soil geometry that is 20m*10m and three cables placed separated in the centre of the 20m width and in about 1.5m burial depth.
I started simple to get the simulation running first by adding only Joule Heating Physics. As I have some air domains I also added the surface-to-surface radiation to those parts.

Anyway, as soon as I start applying a voltage to the cables via the Electric current physics of joule heating the solver gets the following error even before and after adding the radiation physics no matter how coarse or fine I set the mesh settings:

"Failed to find a solution.
Maximum number of Newton iterations reached.
There was an error message from the linear solver.
The relative residual (0.029) is greater than the relative tolerance.
Returned solution is not converged.
- Feature: Stationary Solver 1 (sol1/s1)"

Any suggestions what could be wrong?

Thanks

Best regards
Jan

3 Replies Last Post 2016年12月2日 GMT-5 08:18
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 7 years ago 2016年11月30日 GMT-5 08:57
Hi Jan,
There are many possible reasons for non-convergence.