Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

current carrying wire forces

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

Im totally new to comsol. I've been trying to create the very simpliest caculation from my range of interest, the electromagnetism. I created the 2D simulation of two paralel wires through which a 1A dc current flows in oposite directions. The wires are in circular area of space filled with air. The surrounding infinite space is aproximated by annual area filled with infinite elements. The resulting field looks quite ok. What I'm concerned about is the resulting forces. The distance of wires is 0.7m, so the resulting teoretical force is 1.429e-7 N/m. When I compute the resulting force as a Lorentz force, I get 5.69e-7 N/m and with boundary integrated maxwell stress tensor I get 2.08e-7N/m.
The wires are 0.02 in diameter, so I should be fairly close to the line current aproximation. Mesh and basis function shape is chosen suficiently fine for the forces to converge(checked).

Please point out what am I missing.

Thanks a lot,
Hans

PS : file attached

3 Replies Last Post 2009年11月5日 GMT-5 12:10
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2009年11月5日 GMT-5 02:52
Hi

You can find several discussions about this subject on the forum, try a search (on the forum DB).
In summary the lorentz forces are normally rather correct, while Maxwell stress tensoer calulations are very mesh dependent , with a corect mesh tey are too correct, if not very wrong !

Use rahter fine meshes in AC/DC

Have a look around, try out, check the models and the doc, as there are a few examples there too, and come back, when you have got further questions

Good luck
Ivar