Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Lift on Magnets due to Eddy Currents

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello

I’m relatively new to Comsol and I’m doing a project where I want to simulate the lifting force on a magnet Halbach array as it rotates over a conducting surface (disk) of aluminum. Eddy currents induced in the disk by the rotating array will generate an opposing magnetic field, which will then generate lift.

The simulation that I’ve made is 3D using the Magnetic and Electric Fields (mef) physics interface and stationary study. Instead of rotating the magnet array I have opted for using the Velocity (Lorentz Term) to emulate the conductive disk rotating. To get the lifting force I use Lorentz force contribution, z component integrated all over the disk.

I then do a parametric sweep, where the rotational speed of the disk is incremented. Then the force acting on the disk is plotted as a function of the angular velocity. The results end up being a polynomial, but I would expect the force to be linearly proportional to the angular velocity. Conducted test also back this up - showing a linear relationship.

How do I do this right? I want to simulate the force on the disk as it is being repelled by the magnetic field of the rotating Halbach array. I hope my problem is understandable.

Thanks in advance.

Mads Larsen

4 Replies Last Post 2017年10月25日 GMT-4 14:20

Posted: 6 years ago 2017年10月25日 GMT-4 03:54

Hallo Mads,