Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Expression for variables

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm very new to this software and I'm now looking through the application libraries and tutorials. In one of the tutorials I come across, the modelling gyroscopic effect tutorial, there is a section where a variable is defined in the definition section of the model tree, and the expression reads mbd.hgj3.e1z, and I am expected to type this out. I was wondering what that is and how do I know that exactly. If I had attempted to type that out on my own I wouldn't have known that.

2 Replies Last Post 2019年10月2日 GMT-4 17:27
Magnus Ringh COMSOL Employee

Posted: 5 years ago 2019年10月2日 GMT-4 10:02
Updated: 5 years ago 2019年10月2日 GMT-4 17:28

Hi,

You can use the Find tool (press Ctrl+F), if you have set up all the physics. When you then add mbd.hgj3.e1z, you will find that it is a variable for the Inner Gimbal-Spinning Disc feature. You also need to activate the Equation View from the Show menu in the Model Builder toolbar. You can then find it in the Variables list in the Inner Gimbal-Spinning Disc node's Equation View subnode, where it is described as the z component of the joint axis.

I will make a suggestion to explain this variable in this tutorial example's step-by-step instructions.

Best regards,

Magnus Ringh, COMSOL