Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Help with modeling a vertical multi-concentric tube heat exchanger

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I am new to Comsol, and I think I have pieced together a somewhat functional model. However, I have a few points that I am stuck on and looking for some general feedback on my approach.

I am simulating heat exchange in 3 concentric pipes across 500m of vertical flow. Cold water enters on the surface and flows down an outer channel, which is formed by the outer surface of the middle pipe and the inner surface of the outer pipe - representing perfect insulation for now. Hot water enters at maximum depth and flows up an inner channel, which is formed by the inner surface of the inner pipe. A 3rd "heat exchange" channel is formed by the outer surface of the inner pipe, and inner surface of the middle pipe, and is a sealed volume that contains various fluids - air and water for now. Attached is an image that shows what I am trying to model.

Basic setup

• 2D array with rectangle geometry to represent the inner channel, inner pipe, heat exchange channel, and outer channel.

• The 0,0 point represents the axial symmetry at maximum depth (lower boundaries)

• Stationary laminar conjugative heat transfer

• Added water, air, and "structural steel" from materials library

Heat Transfer in solids and fluids is across all domains (ht)

• Solid domain 1 selected to be the inner and middle pipe domains, material is “structural steel”

• Fluid domain 1 was selected to be the inner and outer channel domains, material is water

• Inflow 1 - top boundary of outer channel with a predefined "cold temperature" (5 C)

• Outflow 1 - bottom boundary of outer channel, and calculating this temperature is the goal