Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Thin film error "Internal error in geometry decomposition"

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm new to Comsol, and I've been having some trouble with creating thin-film geometries. What I have is a number of objects (thin films) with sides with lengths in the order of mm, but heights in the order of 10's of nm. When trying to add multiphysics to these subdomains, I get error 2100: "Internal error in geometry decomposition". Part of my simulation for these structures will include thermal behaviour. For this reason, I am trying to find a way to get Comsol to see my structures as essentially 2-dimensional, and to neglect their thickness, as this seems to be the problem. Does anyone have any experience with this kind of situation, and how to model it?
Any held would be much appreciated!

5 Replies Last Post 2017年8月23日 GMT-4 02:02
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年6月1日 GMT-4 07:22
Hi

You have some documentation on thin film structures modelled as surfaces, basically you must add the physics so that the thickness remains a parameter you enter (it's very close to the way COSMOL implements 2D as internally 2D is in fact the same 3D, but with a fixed "depth" mostly 1[m] by default).

The difficulty starts when you have a stack of lets say 2-3 or more thin layers, as you need a surface per layer they should not overlap, on the other side they cannot be the same. Some FEM programmes have specific layer elements that take this into account, but their physics is mainly limited to structural, sometimes with a thermal DoF. Comsol does not have this, and rely on the physics you write.