Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electrostatics + Metal Electrode

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello

I'm completely new to comsol. I'm trying to simulate the electric field between some specifically arranged metal electrodes. Between them is some material with a certain permittivity.

Now I get an error because there is no permittivity (epsilon) defined for the metal regions. Of course the metal part should have theoretically infinite permittivity. So I tried entering a very large number there but I'm not sure that this is the proper way to handle it. Is there some other model that should be used for simulation of the metal parts?

21 Replies Last Post 2017年7月12日 GMT-4 03:24

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年6月25日 GMT-4 15:00
I am new to comsol too and ran into this problem yesterday. I found in an old text of mine that the permittivity of a conductor is that of free space. This is because permittivity is caused by the polarization of fixed molecules. So I entered 1 for the relative permittivity of the conductor.
I am new to comsol too and ran into this problem yesterday. I found in an old text of mine that the permittivity of a conductor is that of free space. This is because permittivity is caused by the polarization of fixed molecules. So I entered 1 for the relative permittivity of the conductor.

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年6月25日 GMT-4 19:03
The way to do this is to just not solve electrostatics inside the volume of the metal, and apply boundary conditions (such as fixed voltage) on the metal surface.
The way to do this is to just not solve electrostatics inside the volume of the metal, and apply boundary conditions (such as fixed voltage) on the metal surface.