Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to apply Heat Transfer Coefficient

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear COMSOLers,

In the attached "simplifed" 3D model I am studying the thermo-mechanical behavior of a system composed of: a- a graphite block (represents beam dump in reality) heated with some volumertic heat source (represents heat deposited in the beam dump fromhadronic beam in reality). b- a side cooling Cu heat sink plate that is in a contact with the graphite block. The heat removal between these two bodies is governed by a "Thermal Contact" BC at the interface between them. c- water cooling tubes inside the bulk of the heat sink plate. The heat removal between these two bodies should be governed by the heat transfer coefficient, h, at the interfance between them.

While all BC values applied here are arbitrary, in real model, all values are carefully estimated, and the h was estimated using Nusselt number(Pr,Re).

The problem is that, using geometry "Form Union" I am not able to apply the heat transfer coefficient on the boundaries of the water cooling tube. I learned from the below "~ decade-ago" COMSOL forum thread, that I can solve this problem using "Form Assembly" instead of "Form Union"! https://www.comsol.com/forum/thread/25843/manipulating-heat-transfer-coefficient