Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

About calculation of the electron trajectory in magnetic lens(2D Axial Symmetry)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,
I am a beginner of COMSOL.

I want to calculate the electron trajectory in magnetic lens(2D Axial Symmetry).
I can calculate the magnetic flux density.
Then I try to calculate the trajectory by using Time Dependent calculation.
However, electrons do not be affected by magnetic field and just go straight.

Could you check the attached file?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

3 Replies Last Post 2016年3月24日 GMT-4 09:15
Christopher Boucher COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 2016年3月21日 GMT-4 14:20
Hi Yudai,

When applying forces to particles, always make sure that the force feature (in this case the Magnetic Force 1 node) is given an appropriate selection. Currently no domains are selected. In addition, if the force in a 2D axisymmetric model has a nonzero phi-component, make sure that "Include out-of-plane degrees of freedom" is selected in the settings window for the Charged Particle Tracing interface. Otherwise, only motion in the r- and z-directions will be modeled.

Chris
Hi Yudai, When applying forces to particles, always make sure that the force feature (in this case the Magnetic Force 1 node) is given an appropriate selection. Currently no domains are selected. In addition, if the force in a 2D axisymmetric model has a nonzero phi-component, make sure that "Include out-of-plane degrees of freedom" is selected in the settings window for the Charged Particle Tracing interface. Otherwise, only motion in the r- and z-directions will be modeled. Chris

Posted: 8 years ago 2016年3月22日 GMT-4 10:03