Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Effective Young's modulus of multistack

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Good day,

I am new in Comsol and I am trying to simulate the "effective" Young's modulus and Tensile strength of a stack with two layers (rectangle shape 10mmx30mm).
So first of all, I tried with just one layer and applied different displacements (from 0 to 3mm) to one side (the opposite side is fixed) and calculated the reaction forces at the fixed side, but I dont find a linear relation to find the Young's modulus with the slope of the line. The Young's modulus that I wrote for the material was 4.9GPa.
What is my mistake? I guess that after doing it for one layer I can do the same for the two layers, is that right?
Thanks for your help!!

Andres

1 Reply Last Post 2010年12月7日 GMT-5 15:27
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年12月7日 GMT-5 15:27
Hi

first of all its always best to start simple (hence one layer at the time is the "good" way).

Then are you in 2D or 3D ? and which displacement direction did you act on ?

Do not forget that if you have an isotropic material you also have the Poisson value to define and that you should rather talk of a tensor and not a just scalar Young modulus, no ?