Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Meshing of thin film electrodes for a capacitance sensor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Greetings!

Im a graduate student at Hogskolen i Vestfold in Norway. As a part of my project I need to make a model of a capacitance sensor that is based on thin film Au electrodes on a Pyrex substrate covered with PTFE film.

The problem is that when I build electrodes with their real geometry I am unable to mesh them. The electrodes have a very, very high aspect ratio being only 100nm thick but about 10cm long. Meshing this as a free tetrahydral mesh takes unreasonably long - 2-3% per hour(never actualy finished meshing), so I tried using boundry layer meshing: selected boundry layer from mesh tab, selected the domains I wanted to mesh that way, on boundry layer properties selected the number of boundry layers to be 1 and first layer thickness equal to layers total thickness - 100nm. Meshing goes faster but still freezes at about 30% of creating innitial free mesh.

When I set the electrode thickness to a greater value like 10-100um instead of 100nm the model meshes with no problem and produces plausible C values.

Im confused... Is there any way to mesh this problem? The interdigital thin film electrode geametry is in the picture attached.

Any help apreciated.

Cheers!

- Fjodor

9 Replies Last Post 2012年9月18日 GMT-4 03:57
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年2月18日 GMT-5 01:35
Hei Fjodor

Well why should you mesh the film in it thickness if it is really so "thin" ?
Do you really want to analyse what is happening in the thickness of the film ?

If not, try the thin film boundary layer BC, see the doc