Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

how to calculate the mutual inductance of two coils

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

I am a beginner of COMSOL and I begin to try to use the 4.0 version several days ago.

Now I have the problem to calculate the mutual inductance of two or more coils which are placed into the media with electric conductivity range from 0.0005 S/m to 1000 S/m.

I created a simple model but don't know how to extract the inductance matrix of the coils system. Furthermore, there are still some problems to run the model. Could anyone help me to modify the model to let it output a table of inductance matrix when the electric conductivity changes?

Thanks,
Zhanghong Tang

23 Replies Last Post 2011年4月13日 GMT-4 12:16

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年3月19日 GMT-4 20:38

Dear all,

I am a beginner of COMSOL and I begin to try to use the 4.0 version several days ago.

Now I have the problem to calculate the mutual inductance of two or more coils which are placed into the media with electric conductivity range from 0.0005 S/m to 1000 S/m.

I created a simple model but don't know how to extract the inductance matrix of the coils system. Furthermore, there are still some problems to run the model. Could anyone help me to modify the model to let it output a table of inductance matrix when the electric conductivity changes?

Thanks,
Zhanghong Tang

Forgot to say, the frequency is about 20 kHz.