Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Automatically enable/disable constraints/intial values basing on the study step

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear community, I'm Giulio and I'm fairly new to comsol.

My problem is quite simple but, at the moment, I'm not able to find a solution elsewhere.

My study has this structure: 1) Eigenfrequency study of a part (lets call it A) of the system to find its eigenmodes. 2) Use the eigenmodes of A as initial values for A in a time dependent study of the whole system. (in my case I use withsol('sol1',w,setind(lambda,3)), for instance, to select the z-compontent of the displacemente of the third auto-mode).

I want to re-iterate this process with a parameter sweep, changing the size of A. Therefore I have to repeat the eigenfrequency study for each parameter value, to retrieve the eigen-displacement of A.

Is there a way to (1) disable a part of the geometry and initial values node=> perform eigenfrequency study (2) enable all the geometry AND initial values for A => perform t-dependent study in an automatic way (parameter study?).

Otherwise, the solution, migh be study all the eigenmodes for all the parameters in a first time and perform all the t-dep studies in a second time. But it involves twice the meshing and it's probably not the best way to proceed.

Thank you masters.

2 Replies Last Post 2018年2月27日 GMT-5 09:45

Posted: 6 years ago 2018年2月27日 GMT-5 08:11

Hi Giulio,

Is the option "Modify model configuration for study step" in the Study Step configuration can do what you want ? Parts of the model can be activated of disabled here ...

Best regards, Etienne

Hi Giulio, Is the option "Modify model configuration for study step" in the Study Step configuration can do what you want ? Parts of the model can be activated of disabled here ... Best regards, Etienne