Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Structural mechanics Module Involving Temperature and voltage

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

sir,
I am Using Comsol Multiphysics V 3.5
I am very new to COMSOL
Can Some one please direct me to model a system, in which i can change temperature and voltage of a beam simultaneously and see the change in the frequency of the system. i have tried using electro static thermal interaction, but we have to input so many variables which are not exactly required in my problem, i just have to change the temperature of the system and apply various voltages to find out various frequencies.
I would be grateful to get a reply from some one very soon

Thanks
R Abhishek

11 Replies Last Post 2012年8月13日 GMT-4 02:19
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年5月31日 GMT-4 01:28
Hi

you need to explain us the relation you are looking for, as applying a current will give you some joule effect, hence heaing of a conductive media, but that does not explain which frequency you want. Is it a DC current you are using and the eigenfrequency you are looking for under thermal stress ?

or is it a AC current and you are inducing a vibration from the current change and the expansion effect ?

In any case, if its eigenfrequency changes of a pre-stressed beam, you need to use matlab in V3.5 (but nicely "pre-cooked" in v4.2)

Check the forum on how to do an eigenfrequency under pre-stress by a search on the forum (for 3.5)

Else you should consider a frequency domain sweep or a transient analysis, check the doc for the subtile differences ;)

--
Good luck
Ivar