Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Determination of computed value at arbitrary point

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I started working with COMSOL a few days ago, so I'm still a newbie.
What do I have to do in order to get the value of e.g. the magnetic-flux-density-norm at a specific point in my geometrie?

I have some ideas but don't know how to implement them:

1. Defining a point by coordinates and make COMSOL interpolate the value I'm interested in with the values at the adjecent nodes (this would be based on the interpolation-approach for the particular variable; should be no big deal for COMSOL). This would be a possibility for post-processing

2. If I know before the calculation that I'm interested in a value at a specific point, I could define it before mesing. Thus the defined point would be a node of the mesh and I could determine the value as node-value. But were can I find values at nodes? (In Ansys there is the possibility to see all node-values listed either by node-number or by coordinates of the node. Is there a similar possibility in COMSOL?)

Are these sensible basic ideas or are there different solutions in COMSOL?

Thx for now,
Daniel

1 Reply Last Post 2011年9月2日 GMT-4 15:33
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年9月2日 GMT-4 15:33
Hi