Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Changing order of elements in Comsol4.2a

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone,

I am new to comsol, I just want to solve some classical PDEs on curved domains using different orders of elements particularly higher order isoparametric elements.

I solved eigenvalue problem for Laplacian over a circle for default order of elements which is quadratic.

But when I want to solve the same problem over same mesh with different higher order by changing order in Element order list it does not solve the problem for new order. it solves problem with same default quadratic element (i.e. it repeats the old problem and delivers same answer) as one can see from degree of freedom.

Can anyone please help me what I am missing here.

Thank you in advance.

8 Replies Last Post 2012年3月5日 GMT-5 19:24

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年2月29日 GMT-5 17:59
I just checked it and it works fine for me. I used PDE (c) and change order in PDE Settings - Discretization - Element Order. DoF increased from 1217 for quadratic to 4745 for quartic
I just checked it and it works fine for me. I used PDE (c) and change order in PDE Settings - Discretization - Element Order. DoF increased from 1217 for quadratic to 4745 for quartic

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年3月1日 GMT-5 13:21

Thankyou for your help.

I think you talking about comsol 3.5a. I tried in comsol 3.5a and it worked there as you said. But if I use latest version i.e. comsol 4.2 and change element order in Discretization - Element Order, it does not work. I dont know why?

Would be good if I am able to solve it using latest version of comsol as well.

Anyway thanks again.

Abid