Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Strain Energies of a Shell from Eigenvalue solution

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everybody,

I'm pretty new at this COMSOL thing, so I could use any advise you can give me on the following problem:

I'm trying to calculate the ratio of strain energy stored in a thin film on the surface of a disk to the total strain energy in the whole disk/film system. The film is made of tantala (Y = 140 GPa, Poisson's = 0.23, density = 2390 Kg/m^3), and the disk is made of fused silica.

I've built the disk, which can probably just be modeled as a cylinder, 3inches in diameter and 1/10th inch thick, but I've added some small bevels because that's what we're actually measuring. The bevels don't really affect the mode frequencies anyway.

I can calculate the eigenfrequencies pretty easily, and they match what I expect. I can get the total strain energy by either doing a global evaluation of the total strain energy, or doing a volume integral of the strain energy density.

I can calculate the surface strain energy by doing a surface integral over the surface where the coating would be, and this gives me the linear energy density (in J/m), which is okay, because I can just multiply it by the thickness of the coating to get a total energy for the film. Unfortunately, this seems to give me the energy assuming the coating layer is silica. I have tried to change the material of just this boundary to tantala, but it doesn't seem to change the answer. Am I doing something wrong here?