Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

No eigenpair solution selected

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

I'm new in COMSOL. I want to find out eigenfrequencies of a pinned-pinned rectangular concrete beam.
this beam has 5X5 cm cross section. It is a simple problem but I have some problems in getting good results.

Boundary conditions are assigned to edges at two ends.
I selected frequency domain model & eigenfrequency as study.
I used swept mesh from edges that is simply supported.

earlier, I was selected eigenfrequency as study and I encountered with this message:
Failed to evaluate variable Jacobian.
- Variable: mat.rho
- Geometry: 1
- Edge: 3 5 7 8

these edges are longitudinal edges (with no support). So, I used frequency domain model, too. But I have problem yet.

Can everybody help me?
Thanks

7 Replies Last Post 2012年12月17日 GMT-5 10:32
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年12月16日 GMT-5 03:13
Hi

looks like you have not defined materials for all your domains, check again the material node, and then the physics node

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi looks like you have not defined materials for all your domains, check again the material node, and then the physics node -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年12月16日 GMT-5 03:23
Dear Ivar,

Thanks for your soon reply. But I defined Concrete from library with density, young's modulus and poisson ratio.
In geometry scope, I selected All domains. Is it true?

Dear Ivar, Thanks for your soon reply. But I defined Concrete from library with density, young's modulus and poisson ratio. In geometry scope, I selected All domains. Is it true?