Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Surface Recombination- Solar Cell Electrical Simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

My question is more of a conceptual one rather than a technical problem. I'm quite new to solar cells and i'm trying to add a surface recombination model to my 2D thin film(10um) solar cell simulation. However, i'm not sure how to implement an accurate model which has an effect that varies with the distance from the surface.

There are mainly two formulas on the internet, one of which uses SRH recombination model with (1/S) instead of recombination lifetime, which results in a recombination rate 1/m^2*s rather than 1/m^3s, which i'm not sure how to apply to a 2D structure, and the one with 'surface lifetime= (W/s)+Dn(W/pi)^2' which is only applicable to very thick cells as far as i understand.

I couldn't find a most general formula that is applicable to every thickness besides these two.

I would appreciate any help from someone who knows how to implement this.

Thanks in advance

3 Replies Last Post 2015年5月15日 GMT-4 00:08

Posted: 9 years ago 2015年4月26日 GMT-4 15:58
Surface recombination is typically modeled as a velocity, the rate of recombination the product of a surface concentration. And the recombination velocity, the units workin out correctly in 1, 2, or 3 dimensions.

The only problem with this would be if you were using a quantum electrostatic chore too. Like the density gradient method (Ancona, 1987) which results in surface carrier concentrations of zero or near zero depending on whether wacefunction penetration into adjacent insulators is modeled. But for macroscopic solar cells you likely are. It doing this sort of thing. It's more common with mosfet channels.