Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electro statical actuation of a cantilever

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I'm new in using COMSOL, but I have already worked through a bunsh of tutorials. My aim is to model a micromirror membrane which consists of many layers (in the final type at least 25 layers) with different stress characteristics. This membrane additionaly consists of a conductive layer thus electrostatic actuation with an additional counterelectrode should be possible.
To get started with this problem I reduced the problem to a two layer cantilever in 2D. The cantilever deflects due to stress in one of the two layers. This works well up to values of about 100e6 Pa for Sigma_x (Material is GaAs) in one layer. If i further increase the stress, inverted mesh elements occur and I don't really understand what's the meaning of this and how I can get rid of this problem. Nevertheless I went on in modeling with 100e6 for which the problem could be solved. I set up all the boundary conditions for the Solid Stress & Strain, Moving Mesh and Electrostatics package. I just wanted to get a feeling of the dependency between the total displacement and the applied voltage (which I set up between a counter electrode and the top surface of the cantilever). I followed the given Models in the MEMS package "comb drive 2d" and "ale cantilever beam 2d". The difference to the latter is, that I now have two layers and my material is prestressed as i already mentioned.