Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

shock tube with reaction

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi!
I'm new to comsol and I need some help figuring out if this is the right platform for the job.
I'll start a new project involving a shock tube. Some where in the tube a "curtain" of particles will be dropped by an automatic mechanism. The objective is to study the particles combustion reaction kinetics as the shock front passes through them, knowing that their displacement along the tube can be neglected. Is the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module suitable for this system?? Will I have the ability to control the time step and use very small increments (maybe 10^6s or less)??

Thanks.

2 Replies Last Post 2011年12月6日 GMT-5 06:50
COMSOL Moderator

Hello xpto56

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年12月1日 GMT-5 04:22
I am trying something very similar.
Since I have a dimerisation reaction and not a combustion for the moment, I added the reaction without using the "Chemical Reaction Engineering" interface.

Since I have high velocities, I use the new "High Mach Flow" module. It is quite ok, but I have the following problems:
- if I calculate just flux (meaning I do not couple concentrations), it has sometimes overprediction of velocities and temperature of the reflected wave;