Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Natural Heat Convection - Solution not converged

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am trying to solve a simple problem of natural heat convection in water. It is a 2D problem . Two faces are kept at 300K and 310 K. Dimensions are 1 and .6 m . I have connected both heat and flow modules. I am getting an error stating that the solution has not converged.I am new to comsol. How can I solve this problem.

I have made the mesh finer.

2 Replies Last Post 2012年5月31日 GMT-4 04:52
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年12月29日 GMT-5 12:06
Hi

I would have added some gravity "body load" to get some boyance forces,
Anyhow I would rather propose to you to use the pre-programmed "NITF" physics and use a more recent version as old v4.0 was really not "ironed out" for CFD ;)

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi I would have added some gravity "body load" to get some boyance forces, Anyhow I would rather propose to you to use the pre-programmed "NITF" physics and use a more recent version as old v4.0 was really not "ironed out" for CFD ;) -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年5月31日 GMT-4 04:52
Hi all
i must say this is like the 5th thread i see dealing with natural convection and problems with the analysis.
this is also not the first time i have seen reference to "natural convection must be solved under transient solver".