Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Trouble importing complex solids designed in blender

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I'm new to comsol, and since I don't have access to a wind tunnel currently I'm trying to test lift and drag coefficients on some 3d models. The model is a 3d lizard made in blender and it is very complex. I usually export the model from blender as an stl, then use a separate program to convert it to a step file.

Unfortunately I'm having some trouble importing my model (which I designed in blender) as a solid. I can import it as a mesh stl, however when I try to import as a solid step file I get "internal error in geometry processing, internal error code 900".

I tried completely simplifying the model in blender, and when I do it imports as a solid, but it takes hours to load and comes up with dozens of errors.

What can I do to successfully load in this complex model? Should I give up on using blender (which I'm now acquainted with) in favor of a different program? Any ideas?

Thanks, Jaden

1 Reply Last Post 2020年6月17日 GMT-4 17:14
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 4 years ago 2020年6月17日 GMT-4 17:14
Updated: 4 years ago 2020年6月17日 GMT-4 17:15

Hi Jaden,

Before you give up on Blender, or on whichever program you've been using to convert the stl into a step file, try importing your stl in version 5.5. 5.5 is much stronger than 5.3 in that area.

Best regards,

Jeff

-------------------
Jeff Hiller
Hi Jaden, Before you give up on Blender, or on whichever program you've been using to convert the stl into a step file, try importing your stl in version 5.5. 5.5 is much stronger than 5.3 in that area. Best regards, Jeff