Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Frequency domain - mechanical

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I am an electronics student and am trying to simulate the mechanics of a square plate.
My plate has the 4 side faces fixed and a uniform distributed load on one of the larger faces.
The stress and displacement are close to calculated values - hence I can justify that my understanding is verified by the simulation.
I tried to find the eigen frequencies. My query - is the solution given by comsol for eigen frequency = omega (= 2.pi.f) or is it = "f"?
I tried the frequency domain simulation. Here, the frequency that I enter are omega (= 2.pi.f) or is it "f"?

Please recommend me books where, from formulae, I can calculate the resonant frequency and compare with the simulated results. I tried Timoshenko - strength of materials -2, but did not get the frequency.

Thanks in advance.

10 Replies Last Post 2014年4月17日 GMT-4 18:27
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年4月16日 GMT-4 02:11
Hi

eifgenfrequency is in Hz or "f" eigenvalue in omega or rad/s. A frequency domain solving you should give the frequency in Hz. Check the model library and do some of the exercices therein (do not forget to update your model library first)

PS: try to get a newer version, 4.0 was a "first out" of an important change in the software, it was not very stable

--
Good luck
Ivar