Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Impact of 2 spheres

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am attempting to model the impact of two spheres in the structural mechanics module. I understand that COMSOL has trouble with contact pairs when performing a transient analysis, and this is the trouble I am having. I attached my file for your consideration. Please keep in mind that I am a novice user.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

10 Replies Last Post 2013年8月9日 GMT-4 17:15
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2012年7月14日 GMT-4 12:01
Hi

I would not say it's COMSOL that has any major issue with such a model, it's rather that the set-up is delicate, It should work by selecting correct mesh densities and extent of the contact regions, and enough BC to enforce an unique solution, which is not trivial for "rigid" body systems. Furtermore, in transient you have all the resonance modes and pressure waves that are excited, one way to get a better convergence is to remove the "inertial terms" from the solid physics, but then the results are not fully representative. Or to add some damping to minimise unwanted modes.

Unfortunately I do not have 3.5 up running, and translated to 4.3 your model needs some tweaking as entity ID seem to be different

--
Good luck
Ivar