Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Calculation of Contact area

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone!

Pardon me if this is an easy question, but I'm new to comsol. I want to use the contact area in which the amount of contact stress is greater than a specific amount as a boundary condition in a subsequent analysis. In other words, I have a structural mechanics problem in which two surfaces are in contact with each other, and I want to enforce a boundary condition (in a subsequent analysis, of course) on the portion of one of the surfaces that is experiencing contact stress higher than a specific value. How can I approach this? Any ideas? Thank you all!

2 Replies Last Post 2022年4月12日 GMT-4 10:51
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 2 years ago 2022年4月11日 GMT-4 02:43

That depends on what type of boundary condition you are going to use. If it is a Neumann condition, then you can just write an expression in the input field of the type

if(withsol('sol1',solid.Tn)>my_limit),my_neumann_expression,0)

Please check the exact syntax of the withsol() operator in the documentation.

If it is a Dirichlet condition, you can in principle use the same technique, but it is a bit trickier (since the value zero does not mean 'nothing'). You can find the details in this blog post:

https://www.comsol.com/blogs/how-to-make-boundary-conditions-conditional-in-your-simulation/

-------------------
Henrik Sönnerlind
COMSOL