Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Resistive voltage divider

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi!

I have received an mph file of the geometry of a voltage divider consisting of 10 high voltage resistors and 1 low voltage resistor all connected in series with each other. The goal is to add materials to all components, add ground and electrical potential limits, and then calculate the problem.

I'm very new to COMSOL and I do not know how to apply the electrical potential limit. The potential on the upper sphere of my divider should be 1000V. When I assign 1000 V as an electrical potential limit to the sphere and click calculate, I get zero voltage everywhere except the sphere.

how do you get the potential to go from the sphere down to earth and show me how stray capacitances look like between ground and each stage of the divider?

Note! I attached the mph-file if somebody want to check my potential boundary and give me some guidance. I deleted the mesh and the results of last run to compress the size of my file, you can just add a mesh and compute. All help is appreciated!

7 Replies Last Post 2022年4月25日 GMT-4 16:03
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 2 years ago 2022年4月16日 GMT-4 06:10

Tony,

I do not really understand your setup. You apply the 1000V potential on the top sphere and on the connections between the resistors. Shouldn't it only be applied to the sphere? You set up a time dependent study step without a time setting. Shouldn't this be a stationary study?

And in ec all domains must have at least a very small conductivity, also the air domain, otherwise the solver won't converge.

Cheers Edgar

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com