Averaging in frequency domain vs averaging in time dependent study

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello all,

I am a novice in COMSOL and CFD in general. I have a pretty basic question regarding how frequency domain studies can be translated to time dependent studies. I am trying to simulate a 2D electric field between two electrodes with a dielectric in between. One of the electrodes is supplied with an alternating sinusoidal voltage, while the other electrode is set as the ground. In the time-dependant study, when I evaluate a surface average of normE in the dielectric, I get an average value for each time step. In comparision, when I evaluate the same in a frequency domain study, I am only getting a single average value for the particular frequency of the voltage waveform, regardless of the phase I set. My question is, is the average obtained from the frequency domain study equivalent to a time-averaged surface average normE in the time-dependent study over several periods?

Thank you

3 Replies Last Post 2024年6月13日 GMT-4 00:22
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 2 weeks ago 2024年6月12日 GMT-4 11:06
Updated: 2 weeks ago 2024年6月12日 GMT-4 11:10