Superconducting Microwave Resonator

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am trying to simulate superconducting microwave resonator (notch type). Need some advice on how to take into account Kinetic Inductance and better ways to take into account superconductivity than just setting electrical conductivity to a extremly high value. Need to see proper S21 behaviour at resonant frequency, open to new ideas for meshing as well.

3 Replies Last Post 2024年6月20日 GMT-4 02:13
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 3 weeks ago 2024年6月18日 GMT-4 09:29

I do not really have solutions to your problem but I am interested in the topic. I am not an expert in superconductors. I found that kinetic induction is significant at optical frequencies, not at 6 GHz, but maybe this is different in superconductors? What other aspect in superconduction besides zero resistivity is relevant in an RF problem? I would think that PEC should be ok for the job.

What S21 behavior are you expecting in your device?

Cheers Edgar

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
I do not really have solutions to your problem but I am interested in the topic. I am not an expert in superconductors. I found that kinetic induction is significant at optical frequencies, not at 6 GHz, but maybe this is different in superconductors? What other aspect in superconduction besides zero resistivity is relevant in an RF problem? I would think that PEC should be ok for the job. What S21 behavior are you expecting in your device? Cheers Edgar

Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 3 weeks ago 2024年6月18日 GMT-4 13:16

Not an expert either, although I have worked with superconductors (twice).

Right now you have specified your conductor to have a very high conductivity, although you don't actually use it in your model as you have made all the conductors perfect.