Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Vibrationg structure in fluid

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello Everyone,

This is my first project with Comsol so I have no clue about what I am doing really. My questions are most likely very simple/stupid I'm sure anyone here can help me.

What I want to do is basicly to do exactly what is done in this paper: www.comsol.com/papers/1592/

Simulation of a Vibrating Plate-based Micromixer

I couldn't find any tutorial that does have a vibrating structure interfacing with liquid. I am using 2D model FSI but I don't know how to make the plate vibrate. I guess that I need to give it sin() velosity in (y) direction, but I don't know how.

It is probably really basic but this is absolutely my first time I'm dealing with comsol so please help me.

I have done some of the basic tutorials on SFI but none of the step by step tutorials are similar to what I need.

Any information will be really really valuable to me. I really appreciate if anyone can point me to a tutorial or something that helps.

Thanks a lot,
Monica

4 Replies Last Post 2015年10月16日 GMT-4 00:47

Posted: 1 decade ago 2013年3月26日 GMT-4 08:22
Hi Monica

Have you taken a look at the model library? There is a model on a vibrating beam in fluid flow, just search for "vibrating beam" and you should find it under Fluid-Structure Interaction.

Since this is the first model you want to do, you should start out slow. Otherwise you will just get overwhelmed and the result will suffer.
--
Hope this helps
--
/RVN