Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Problem when trying to simulate solar cell

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone, I am new to Comsol and am trying to simulate a simple silicon solar cell using the semiconductor module. I can setup the PN junction and find IV curves with no problem. However, when I try to enter an electron and hole generation rate using the "User Defined Recombination" the solution won't converge. I get the following error message:

Failed to find a solution for the initial parameter.
Maximum number of Newton iterations reached.
Returned solution is not converged.
- Feature: Stationary Solver 1 (sol1/s1)

I am using a generation rate of 10^32 [1/(m^3*s)] and the volume of my cell is 10^-17 [m^3], corresponding to the generation of 10^15 carriers per second. Assuming no recombination, this will lead to a current of approximately 1 mA. If I use a lower generation rate (10^25 [1/(m^3*s)] ) the solution will converge, but I get negligible photocurrent. I have attached my simulation. Any help, or tips would be much appreciated!

Thanks
-Kevin

4 Replies Last Post 2016年6月6日 GMT-4 10:25
Daniel Smith COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago 2014年2月21日 GMT-5 15:31
Hi Kevin, when solving this type of problem with the Semiconductor Module you often need to ramp up the magnitude of the recombination rate using the "Auxiliary sweep" option in the Stationary study step settings. In your case, this results in a parametric sweep over 2 parameters. The model will take longer to solve but it will be much easier for the solver to find a converged solution.

In your specific model, the mesh also needs refining. You can refer to the attached model.

Dan