Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Solidification model (Ice making with spheric molds)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I'm Marcelo from Argentina. I'm new to COMSOL and wish you can help me with my project. In simple words I want to model the heat transfer process involved in solidification. My model is very simple, I have an spheric mold filled with water and cooled by a cold air flow (I attached an image of this). I want to make a time dependant study to analyse the soldification progress under different environments (for example replacing cold air with Propylene Glycol, etc).

Since I'm really new to this program I searched for a model to use as an example and that could help me understand how can I build my project. I couldn't find anything so I hope you can give me some advice. The most difficult part as I can see is the phase change. How can I simulate the soldification progress from the outside to the center of the sphere. For example in T0 I have all water in the mold but in T1 the water near the surface will start to solidificate and a portion of the water volume now should be ice. I have a new domain with a new material (ice) that grows from the outside of the sphere to the center. One of the most important things I want to get from this model is the time of complete soldification and the time of partial solidification (70%-80%-etc)

If there is somebody there that can help me with this, please! Any model I can download?
Thanks in advance for your time

PD: Sorry for my English, hope you can understand my problem! :(

1 Reply Last Post 2014年5月26日 GMT-4 04:13

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam