Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Need of applying scattering boundary condition in comsol

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi Mr.Ivar,

i am new with Comsol and using 4.3b version.I have a silly question.please,tell me what is need of applying scattering boundary condition in software..actually,for which purpose it is being used?

7 Replies Last Post 2016年6月29日 GMT-4 18:30
Sergei Yushanov Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 years ago 2014年10月31日 GMT-4 09:15
Krupali,

Scattering Boundary Condition is used to avoid back reflection of the outgoing wave from the exterior boundary of your computational domain. In another words, this boundary condition makes a boundary transparent for the outgoing waves.

Scattering Boundary Condition can also be used to lunch source (incident) wave from the boundary.

Regards,
Sergei
Krupali, Scattering Boundary Condition is used to avoid back reflection of the outgoing wave from the exterior boundary of your computational domain. In another words, this boundary condition makes a boundary transparent for the outgoing waves. Scattering Boundary Condition can also be used to lunch source (incident) wave from the boundary. Regards, Sergei

Posted: 10 years ago 2014年11月2日 GMT-5 23:03
thank you sir for your reply.

Still I am confused that how PML and scattering boundary conditions differ from each other?when should I use PML and when scattering boundary condition?
thank you sir for your reply. Still I am confused that how PML and scattering boundary conditions differ from each other?when should I use PML and when scattering boundary condition?

Sergei Yushanov Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 years ago 2014年11月3日 GMT-5 08:43
Krupali,