Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Stepwise function in COMSOL

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am currently using COMSOL to solve the 2D Schrödinger Equation for an spherical infinite square well with a potential bottom that is deeper inside a core region sqrt(x^2 + y^2) < R1 < R, where R is the total radius of the spherical well.
To do so I use the generic expression for a 2D PDE in the eigenvalue form and identify u as the potential function (is this the best way to do it? I am quite new to COMSOL). My geometry is a circle, where I demand that the wavefunctions vanish at the boundary.
To incorporate the I therefore want to define a 2d piecewise function f(x,y) to which I equate u. For my problem I want f(x,y) = {a for sqrt(x^2 + y^2) < R1 , b for R1 < sqrt(x^2 + y^2) < R
But how can I implement this is in the setup for a piecewise function? I was able to construct a 1d piecewise function using the interval structure in the setup, but how do I implement this 2D boundary?

3 Replies Last Post 2016年4月7日 GMT-4 09:53

Posted: 8 years ago 2016年4月5日 GMT-4 20:00
a + (b - a) * (x^2 + y^2 > R1^2) - b * (x^2 + y^2 > R^2)

This works because the binary comparison operator ">" uses 1 for true, 0 for false.

Only issue with this is the step function doesn't interpolate well and you may want to use a continuous function (like the error function) which can be used to yield a smooth transition between 0 and 1.

a + (b - a) * (x^2 + y^2 > R1^2) - b * (x^2 + y^2 > R^2) This works because the binary comparison operator ">" uses 1 for true, 0 for false. Only issue with this is the step function doesn't interpolate well and you may want to use a continuous function (like the error function) which can be used to yield a smooth transition between 0 and 1.

Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 2016年4月6日 GMT-4 09:42