Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulation fails when I add heat transfer physics

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Good morning,
I'm a student and I'm trying to model on Comsol an implantable fetal pacemaker (PM). I modeled the system with a corkskrew (helix) that represents the working electrode of the PM; then, I modeled the body of the PM with two cylinders linked to the helix mentioned above (one of the two is used as the ground of the PM). Finally, to simulate the environement of the PM (heart tissue, blood), I added two larger cylinders who enfold the PM.
When I run the simulation (stationary study) using just the physics "electric current", it works without any problem: I succeed to simulate the voltage and the current density reached in the system.
As I try to add a second physics (Heat transfer in solids or Bioheat transfer) the simulation fails and I always got the same message "Failed to find a solution. Segregated group 2. Out of memory during LU factorization".
Now, even if I don't have such a great experience with comsol, I don't think that my model is too complex to run a simulation with two physics; however, I still can't get the solution of this problem.
If anybody could give me any tip, I'd appreciate it.

Thank you very much!
P.s. I attach some photo of the model in the case somebody was so kind to help me.

2 Replies Last Post 2016年4月14日 GMT-4 04:08

Posted: 8 years ago 2016年4月13日 GMT-4 16:54
Hi,

there's an other post regarding your problem from 2009

www.comsol.com/community/forums/general/thread/581/

Running out of memory could just mean that. Your System does not have enough RAM. Either because you're using a 32 bit System or that you simply don't have that much RAM.