Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Unable to call the local function defined when defining material properties

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to COMSOL, and I ran into problems when I am defining material properties. I defined analytic functions and piecewise functions under Component 1 ==> Definitions, and then while I am trying to define the properties, I put the name of the function that I have already defined in the Expression box, but a floating box with "Unknow variable" appears everytime. And I also tried right click on Basic ==> Funcitions to define the variable that I would like to use as the property expression but the same thing happens.

I really would like to know why all the variable that I defined as functions cannot be called later on. But I have to define them as functions because they are temperature dependent and I have to put "if" condition for them because the expression is different under different temperatures.

I would appreciate any help! Thank you very much!

Best regards, Shengyue Shan

2 Replies Last Post 2018年7月27日 GMT-4 11:43

Posted: 6 years ago 2018年7月27日 GMT-4 04:48

Hi Shengyue,

When you use the function you define in the material properties are you specifying the dependent variable?

If your density is a function that you previously defined and is temperature depedent you have to use the_name_of_your_function(T) instead of just the_name_of_your_function

Hope this helps.

Best, Nichal

Hi Shengyue, When you use the function you define in the material properties are you specifying the dependent variable? If your density is a function that you previously defined and is temperature depedent you have to use the_name_of_your_function(T) instead of just the_name_of_your_function Hope this helps. Best, Nichal

Posted: 6 years ago 2018年7月27日 GMT-4 11:43