Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Switched reluctance generator

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi..

I am new in COMSOL. I am trying to model a switched reluctance generator. I need advice on how do I go about creating a magnetic field by applying current in winding. THe 2D generator example uses PM to create magentic field, but SRG does not have any PM. PLease advice.
Your kind help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

4 Replies Last Post 2010年2月12日 GMT-5 04:35

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年2月4日 GMT-5 19:29
SRG uses concentrated windings placed around each salient pole on the stator right?. The coils around the individual poles are connected to form the phase windings. Therefore the windings on the stator have to be excited by the outer circuit (an input current), and the electrical energy and mechanical energy are converted into magnetic field energy.

Hope it helps
SRG uses concentrated windings placed around each salient pole on the stator right?. The coils around the individual poles are connected to form the phase windings. Therefore the windings on the stator have to be excited by the outer circuit (an input current), and the electrical energy and mechanical energy are converted into magnetic field energy. Hope it helps

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010年2月7日 GMT-5 17:15
Thank you very much Joao,

You mean i have to have an outer circuit to provide excitation to the windings? If I put a value for 'external current density' under the Subdomain Setting, would it be the same as providing input current without the external circuit.
Currently I am trying to put a value of current under the subdomain setting, but I do not get a good magnetic field distribution. If I still can't do it this way, I might try using an external circuit. Any idea on how to model the external circuit? Any notes that I can refer to?