Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to make sure AC/DC and Structural models are coupled? SIMULATION ATTACHED

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm doing my thesis on the magneto-mechanical coupled analysis. The attached file is only a simple example showing what I want to do about magneto-mechanical coupling. I chose to use the AC/DC model, ALE, Structural mechanics model. In the model, there are a permanent magnet and a steel rod. One end of the rod is fixed, while the other is free. The magnet will draw the rod and cause deflection of the steel rod. Once the steel rod deflects, it goes nearly to the magnet, which cause a increment of magnetic force. The magnetic force will then make the rod's deflection greater.

My concern are as follows:
1. I use 'segregated' in the stationary solver. When I run the simulation, an 'error vs. iteration' plot always come out, which includes three lines. What's the meaning of those lines? Are they converging lines?

2. Though I've arranged the ALE, AC/DC, structural mechanics as the 1st, 2nd and 3rd segregated group to be solved. I'm not sure if they have been coupled. Does COMSOL do automatically coupling?

3. If my model in the attached file is a successful coupled model, how can I make sure the results have converged? How can I show the magnetic force is increasing vs. iterations? Do I need to store the results?

THANKS VERY MUCH.:)

3 Replies Last Post 2013年3月20日 GMT-4 17:47
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2013年3月20日 GMT-4 15:59
Hi