Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

switching electric AC voltage

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I'm rather new to COMSOL. Is there a way to model a switching AC field between two electrodes? That is, both electrodes are always applying an AC field of the same frequency, but one side is high and the other is lower but periodically, they switch potentials?

In the past, I've used the electric currents model and frequency domain to solve, but I need to include this switching effect in the model, which I'm not sure how to.

Also, why is there such a huge difference when I'm defining the electrodes as floating potentials versus terminals? The E-field map I got when using the floating potential resulted in no gradient in potential and thus the E-field was zero everywhere.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks,
Ed

4 Replies Last Post 2014年1月30日 GMT-5 01:16
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 2014年1月28日 GMT-5 12:59
Ed,

in this case you need a time dependent study. You must define the waveforms at the electrodes explicitely as functions of time.
If your model only consists of floating electrodes without terminal or potential BCs you won't get any non-zero field. But I am not sure if I understand this issue correctly.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com