Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Suggestion: Membrane Vibration Simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am planning to build a simulation which is about the thin ( 30~50 nm) membrane mechanical vibration due to the electromagnetic radiation pressure (EM force on the membrane surfaces). I am just learning COMSOL Multiphysics 4.3b. I hope some of you recommend me a suitable module for my system. I have planned to use electromechanics(emi), however, it seems to hard to generate EM (TEM) field with this module. I hope someone will suggest me a useful module, thank you.

Abdu

2 Replies Last Post 2014年3月31日 GMT-4 13:02
Cesare Tozzo COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 decade ago 2014年3月31日 GMT-4 05:41
Hi Abdu
as I started explaining from support, COMSOL can couple Electromagnetics and Deformable structure in many possible ways depending on the kind of coupling.

If the electrical part is nearly static the "electromechanics(emi)" interface is perfect (there you use a V formulation - it is a very common approach in capacitative actuator MEMS - one reference among the many available www.comsol.com/model/biased-resonator-models-3d-11748 ). If you would like to see low frequency (rule of thumb: wavelenght of the EM wave, c_const/freq, much longer than the system) a similar approach may still be proficuously used.

On the other hand, if you ask about coupling EM wave propagation to deformable structure, you need different electromagnetic formulations which can simulate EM wave (a V formulation cannot describe a propagating field); those formulation are present in RF Module or Wave Optics Module of COMSOL and can be coupled with deformable structure (one reference among the several available www.comsol.com/model/electromagnetic-and-structural-analysis-of-a-microwave-filter-on-a-pcb-4461 ).