Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Magnetic force on magnetic particle by permanent magnet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I am completely new to comsol. And these days I am trying to use comsol to simulate the magnetic force on iron oxide magnetic particle by permanent magnet. In theory, the magnetization direction of particle follows the direction of magnetic field generated by permanent magnet. And due to the gradient of magnetic field, the y component of magnetic force is much stronger than the x component. But my simulation does not work fine. In addition, the y component of magnetic force should be negative rather than positive. Maybe there is some place where my setting is wrong. Is there somebody who can help me regarding the following issue?

1. How to set the magnetic property of magnetic particle, whose magnetization direction follows that of magnetic field?
2. Why is the magnetic force on magnetic particle wrong? What is the problem?
3. How to edit the model of magnetic force on magnetic particle when I know the magnetization and magnetic field strength?

Attached is my model. I appreciate it very much if someone can take his/her time to help me.

Best regards,

Jing

2 Replies Last Post 2014年10月22日 GMT-4 08:12
Sergei Yushanov Certified Consultant

Posted: 10 years ago 2014年10月22日 GMT-4 01:35
Jing,

1. Use Remanent flux density instead of Magnetization to define constitutive relation for magnetic particle (this would allow you to avoid circular dependency) and define remanent flux as following:
Brx=Br0*mfnc.Hx/sqrt(mfnc.Hx^2+mfnc.Hy^2+eps)
Bry=Br0*mfnc.Hy/sqrt(mfnc.Hx^2+mfnc.Hy^2+eps)