Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Understanding Boundry Conditions

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there,

I am completely new to COMSOL and am trying to learn as i go along. I am trying to do a very simple stress simulation with a simple 2D geometry. I want to apply a small load to a few of the edges of my geometry and have the rest of the edges "free", then see the resulting strain in the centre but if i do not allocate at least 1 fixed constraint/roller constraint somewhere in the geometry i get " Failed to find a solution. The relative residual (0.28) is greater than the relative tolerance.
Returned solution is not converged."

Do i have to have at least one fixed constraint/roller constraint for this to work or am i missing something? Like i said i very new to this to sorry for my lack of understanding.

Thanks

4 Replies Last Post 2015年11月24日 GMT-5 13:17
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 9 years ago 2015年11月18日 GMT-5 14:52
Hello Waseem,
Indeed, you need to specify constraints sufficient to prevent all rigid body motions. This question pops up from time to time, see
www.comsol.com/community/forums/general/thread/46191
www.comsol.com/community/forums/structural-mechanics/thread/45963
etc .
In 2D there are only 3 rigid body motions, and adding three constraints is enough to make the problem well posed. For instant you can imposed a fixed constraint to point 19 and a y displacement of 0 at point 37.
Of course, this is only one possibility. You need to chose constraints that reflect the actual physical situation you are modeling.
Best,
Jeff