Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

modeling a 3d electromagnet in a stationary study

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey i am having som trouble.

it is giving me this error:
and i can't figure out why!
i tried to use and modify the "Multi_Turn Coil Winding around a Rectangular Ferromagnet cleared.mph" to help me make it. i modified the size and use it in a stationary rather than frequency domain so it fits my needs. but i can't seem to compute it.

im new in comsol, so it might just be a brain fart.

the error i get is:
Division by zero.
- Function: /
Failed to evaluate variable.
- Variable: comp1.mf.Jey
- Defined as: ((comp1.mf.ICoil_1*comp1.mf.mtcd1.eCoily)*N)/comp1.mf.mtcd1.area
Failed to evaluate variable.
- Variable: comp1.mf.Jy
- Defined as: comp1.mf.Jiy+comp1.mf.Jey
Failed to evaluate expression.
- Expression: d((comp1.mf.d*(-comp1.mf.Hx*comp1.mf.testcurlAx-comp1.mf.Hy*comp1.mf.testcurlAy-comp1.mf.Hz*comp1.mf.testcurlAz+comp1.mf.Jx*test(comp1.mf.Adepx)+comp1.mf.Jy*test(comp1.mf.Adepy)+comp1.mf.Jz*test(comp1.mf.Adepz)))*(dvol),{test@24})

the file is to large to upload it here. so i put it in my google drive at:
drive.google.com/open?id=0B52pVuxc2-oFU1FDNnZXV19aTms

thank you in advance.

6 Replies Last Post 2017年5月3日 GMT-4 02:49
Morten Siwertsen COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 2016年5月17日 GMT-4 07:34
Hi Christian,

When using a "Multi-Turn Coil" feature you need to add a "Coil Geometry Analysis" study. You can either add a new study or simply add a new study step to your current study 1 sequence: Right-click "Study 1" and choose "Study steps" > "Other" > "Coil Geometry Analysis".
Make sure the Coil Geometry Analysis step is step 1 in the study sequence - you can drag it up using your mouse. Step 2 should be the Stationary step.
Now you should be able to solve it.