Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Water droplet falling through air on a structured surface

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
Im new to comsol. I was trying to model a water droplet falling onto a solid substrate. The droplet should fall through air and then i should be able to calculate contact angles at various instances after the droplet has made contact with the surface . However the main problem im facing is tht the droplet just doesnt fall. What i dont realise is tht when ive defined all constants and boundary conditions, why is this happening? I havent given Volume forces during defining of subdomain variables as you will see in my model which im attaching.
Btw im using free mesh....shud i use ALE?
Any help wud be appreciated.
Thanks.

12 Replies Last Post 2016年7月18日 GMT-4 02:58

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年7月8日 GMT-4 10:21
I just found a video on youtube.
I'm trying to simulate what this user has already done.
I'm trying to get what happens in the video from 0:12 to 0:20 along with the droplet spreading on the surface.
Any help will be appreciated.
I just found a video on youtube. I'm trying to simulate what this user has already done. I'm trying to get what happens in the video from 0:12 to 0:20 along with the droplet spreading on the surface. Any help will be appreciated.

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011年7月8日 GMT-4 10:23
Sorry.
Here's the link: