Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Is the Comsol Model Class a Handle Class in Matlab? Can/should I pass it as "call by reference"?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey there,

I'm new to Comsol and I'm developing my first Matlab application using LiveLink. As I understand the object oriented concept in Matlab, there are two types of classes. Value Classes and Handle Classes. Instances of the latter can be used as function argument in the sense of "call by reference".

Which of those two types of Matlab classes belongs the Comsol Model Object to?
If I load a Comsol model in Matlab using the Matlab code

model = mphload(mymodel.mph, 'My Model');

can I then pass the above variable to some Matlab function "myFun()" as call by reference, modify in that function the Model Object and see the modifications in the main Matlab script when returning from "myFun()"?

Is that all save to do or what is the best practice to structure and modularize Matlab code when using the Comsol Model Object?

Thanks a lot in advance,
Joerg

3 Replies Last Post 2013年3月17日 GMT-4 09:01

Posted: 1 decade ago 2013年3月16日 GMT-4 08:14
Hello Joerg,

I'm not quite sure I understood your question... perhaps it would be better if you could explain exactly what you wanna do.

Mind that the model object is just a sequence of instructions for Comsol. Basically what you do with LiveLink is giving instructions to Comsol via Matlab instead of the classic Comsol's GUI. So, ether if you have you model object in one, two, or hundred .m-file does not matter.