Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

S-parameter and port BC

Farhad Kazemi Khosroshahi

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone
I am studying the emissivity of a surface. In order to consider higher orders of reflection or transmission, we need to add several port BCs. for example in my case I am trying to obtain the reflectivity and transmissivity for m=0,+-1,+-2,+-3 orders. in this case we need to define 14 port BC.
in this case, for example, " abs(emw.S11)^2 " gives the zero order reflectivity. But for orders higher than 2 we can not define such expression. In fact, COMSOL does not accept " abs(emw.S101)^2 " which refers to the row 10 and column 1 of the S-matrix. We can define only the following expressions:
abs(emw.S11)^2
abs(emw.S21)^2
abs(emw.S31)^2
abs(emw.S41)^2
abs(emw.S51)^2
abs(emw.S61)^2
abs(emw.S71)^2
abs(emw.S81)^2
abs(emw.S91)^2
I need to define the following expressions as well but after typing the turn to orange
abs(emw.S101)^2
abs(emw.S111)^2
abs(emw.S121)^2
abs(emw.S131)^2
abs(emw.S141)^2

does anybody knows what is going wrong?

2 Replies Last Post 2015年8月24日 GMT-4 05:38
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Farhad Kazemi Khosroshahi

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 9 years ago 2015年8月23日 GMT-4 19:19
Hello,
I also want to know what is going wrong. Have you woked out any approach to solve this problem?

Thank you!