Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Thermal Stress: temperature response to heat pulse

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all, I'm pretty new to COMSOL, i'm trying to simulate the thermal stress response of a small Si [100] chip cooled down to 100mK, with a pulse heat source on a certain point/domain.

The model is as follows: the chip is 8x8mm2, 300microns thick, floating, connected to the thermal bath (kept at 100mK) by a certain number of bridges. The whole system is Si based only, that is because I want to cut the chip with its bridges directly on a silicon wafer. The number of bridges and their shape depends on the thermalization time of the chip, wich is fixed in around hundreds of microseconds.
The heat pulse I use is a step or rectangular function of 1ps, with a total power estimated of 10mW.

I made two different simulations: a 2D and a 3D version of the same problem. I'm encountering problems switching from one to the other, but that's a secondary problem, since I am first interested in understanding the thermal behaviour in a simpler way, so I will tell you of the 2D simulation.