Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

rate of heat transfer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new in Comsol and might have a fairly simple question. How can I simulate this situation:

There is a block of a material 10mm*10mm*1mm. If a part of this material with dimension of 0.1mm*.01mm*0.01mm (in the center) has a temperature of 2000 degree. The surrounding ambient is always 25 degree.
now the question is: how long does it take that the whole block goes back to 25 degree?

5 Replies Last Post 2015年2月11日 GMT-5 09:33

Posted: 9 years ago 2015年2月11日 GMT-5 05:14
1. What is the material, i.e. its thermal conductivity or thermal diffusivity?
2. What is the heat transfer coefficient between the block and its surroundings? It is not guaranteed that the outer edges of the block remain at 25 °C all the time, unless you force it somehow.

Knowing these parameters the simulation is most straightforward.

br
Lasse
1. What is the material, i.e. its thermal conductivity or thermal diffusivity? 2. What is the heat transfer coefficient between the block and its surroundings? It is not guaranteed that the outer edges of the block remain at 25 °C all the time, unless you force it somehow. Knowing these parameters the simulation is most straightforward. br Lasse

Posted: 9 years ago 2015年2月11日 GMT-5 07:57
Thank you for the prompt reply.

For the parameter I have:
k = 42 w/m.k
C = 750 j/kg.k

about the environment around the block, how can i introduce or force it to interact with sample at a certain temperature?
there are two surroundings
1- on top of the surface (where the heat release on a) there is water which moving really fast and doesn't heat up itself and just take the heat away from the sample

2- at the bottom of sample there is air which can be heated up